Every word you said became a joke

You thought it ended when I caught you lying

One minute rich, and then the next flat broke.

Or else, you thought, there was another bloke,

But how could I, when I was slowly dying?

And every word I said became a joke,

And every penny earned went up in smoke

We spent it on whatever you were buying

One minute rich, and then the next flat broke.

I wash your feet while in the bath you soak,

And all I ever hear is that you’re trying

But every word you say becomes a joke.

I never should have listened to the folk

Who said there was no benefit in spying;

One minute rich, and then the next flat broke.

A year’s gone by with not even a poke

And ever since you left I’ve felt like flying,

Now every word you said’s become a joke,

One minute rich, and then the next flat broke.

