Well.  I’ve been at this for over a month now, and it’s time for an evaluation.

I’ve managed to stick to it for longer than I thought I would.  OK, I originally planned to post every day, and that hasn’t happened.  But there’s been times when I could have quietly left – honestly, times when I’ve felt it would be better to allow the thing to die a quiet death and stop abusing the hospitality of those kind folk at WordPress with my self-indulgent wibblings, of which this is one…

– deep breath –

(Note to self.  Write shorter sentences.)

…but I haven’t.

Every so often, I get an image, or a phrase, or a word in my head.  And it occurs to me that I could do something with it.  Something worth reading.

So I give it a go.  And sometimes it works better than others.  There are a few posts here that I’m really proud of (I suspect this isn’t going to be one of them, but never mind).  Others are, at best, prototypes.  I know what I meant by them, and someday I may be able to find a better way to say it.  I’m still learning.

And you know what?  I’m really enjoying it.

The feeling when a poem comes together, the rush of finding just the right words in precisely the correct rhythm!  And oh, the words, the words, the beautiful words, dactyl, spondee, kyrielle, syzygy!

…got a little carried away there.  See what I mean?  I’d be loving this even if nobody was reading it.

But it means so much that you are.

It’s that extra little push that keeps me at it.  The feeling that I’m not just writing into a void, that I’m putting it out there for people to read and think about and maybe even enjoy, gives me hope that maybe, maybe, this is something I can actually do.


Which means I’ll keep doing it.

Thank you.

